PBL 2017 Points Table, Standings & Results

The 2017 Premier Badminton League season 2 begins on 1st January while the final is scheduled to be held on 14 January 2017. The tournament features six teams who will battle for the title and prize money of Rs 6 crore. The opening match takes place between Hyderabad Hunters and Chennai Smashers. The event will run for 14 days and you can catch Premier Badminton League PBL 2017 points table here to know team standing and points.

PBL 2017 Points Table

Rank Team Matches RMW TMW TML Points
1 Awadhe Warriors 4 10 4 0 18
2 Mumbai Rockets 4 11 3 1 16
3 Bengaluru Blasters 5 7 3 2 11
4 Chennai Smashers 3 4 3 0 10
5 Hyderabad Hunters 4 5 2 2 9
6 Delhi Acers 4 4 2 2 6

The Premier Badminton League 2017 will feature many Olympic stars including Rio gold medalist Carolina Marin, Rio silver medallist PV Sindhu, 2012 London bronze medallist Saina Nehwal and more. The 11-point format has been introduced in this season to make the league more exciting and challenging. Let’s see the complete Premier Badminton League PBL 2017 points table below.

Premier Badminton League PBL 2017 Points Table

In the league stage, each team plays 1 tie with each of the other teams. Each tie comprises of 5 matches – Men’s Singles 1, Men’s Doubles, Women’s Singles, Mixed Doubles & Men’s Singles 2. There is no Women’s Doubles match. Each Match will be played as best of 3 Games, with each game being a Race to 11 points. In case both the players are tied at 10-10, then they play on for a lead of 2 points, till a cap of 15 i.e., after 14-14, there will be the deciding point.

After each team shares the list of players who will be playing the 5 matches & their choice of trump match, the order of play will be mutually decided by the Technical team of PBL & Star India before each tie (from a neutral perspective) to keep the schedule engaging for viewers and spectators, keeping in mind the following criteria:

  • No player plays back to back matches
  • In case the same is unavoidable, then there will be a 5 minute extra gap between consecutive matches if the same player is playing them.

Prior to this, both the captains would have shared the names of the players who will be representing them in these 5 matches and which of these 5 matches will be Trump for the respective teams. It is fine that both the teams have placed the Trump on the same match.

Each team strategically selects one of the 5 matches that they play in a Tie as their TRUMP MATCH. In a trump match, a victory gives the team a bonus point and a loss gives it a negative point. TRUMP MATCH rules are explained in detail later. Trump matches will be applicable in the league as well as knockout stage (Semifinals and Finals).

After the end of the league, the top 4 teams in the PBL 2017 points table will proceed to the Semifinals. There will be a draw taken after the last match of the league stage. Top two teams will be placed at the top and bottom of the draw. The remaining two teams will be drawn by lot to play against these two top teams in the semi-finals.

In the case of two teams ending up with the same points in PBL 2017 points table after the league stage, the team which has won their head to head Tie. To clarify, winner of a H2H tie will be the team that accumulated maximum points in those 5 matches of the tie (but not the team that has won more matches out of those 5).