Premier Badminton League (PBL) 2017 Squads & Players List

The upcoming Premier Badminton League (PBL) 2017 tournament will take place next year from January 1 to 14. It is the second edition of the event. The top shuttlers around the world including Olympic champion Carolina Marin of Spain and Rio silver medallists P V Sindhu, Olympic bronze medallist Viktor Axelsen of Denmark and more will show their skill in the tournament. The players’ auction were held where all 6 teams picked their favourites. so, let’s see who got the highest bid, auction results and PBL 2017 squads of all six teams. [Premier Badminton League 2017 Schedule]

The Olympic champion Carolina Marin was the highest paid played player of the Premier Badminton League (PBL) season 2 and was bought for Rs 61.5 lakhs by Hyderabad Hunters while Kidambi Srikanth was the highest paid Indian shuttler at the players’ auction. He was bagged by the Awadhe Warriors for Rs 51 lakhs. South Korea’s shuttler Sung Ji Hyun became the second highest paid player and bought by Mumbai Rockets for Rs 60 lakhs.

Premier Badminton League PBL 2017 Squads & Players List

The Rio Olympic silver medallist PV Sindhu sold for Rs 39 lakhs while star badminton Saina Nehwal was unsold in the first round and so she was retained by her previous franchise Awadhe Warriors at a base price of Rs 33 lakhs.

The competition will run for 15 days across state-of-the-art stadiums in India including Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Mumbai, Chennai, New Delhi and Lucknow.

Total six teams are taking part in the league namely Delhi Acers, Mumbai Rockets, Chennai Smashers, Hyderabad Hunters, Awadhe Warriors and Bangalore Blasters who will fight for the PBL 2017 title and prize money which increased to Rs 6 crore and makes the Premier Badminton League 2017 the highest prize money badminton tournament in the world. Here are complete PBL 2017 squads of all six teams.

Premier Badminton League PBL 2017 Squads

Awadhe Warriors – V Shem Goh, Srikanth Kidambi (51 lakhs), Savitree Amitrapai, Saina Nehwal (33 lakhs), Wong Wing Ki Vincent, Rituparna Das, Bodin Isara, Markis Kido, Prajakta Sawant, Aditya Joshi

Mumbai Rockets – Lee Yong Dae, Sung Ji Hyun, Nadiezda Zieba, Ajay Jayaram, Prannoy HS (22 lakhs), Nipitphon Phusnhphupet, Manu Atri, Abhishek Yelegar, Vrushali G, Mohita Sehdev

Delhi Acers – Son Wan Ho, Jan o Jorgensen (59 lakhs), Jwala Gutta (10 lakhs), Nithchaon Jindapol, Ivan Sozonov, Vladimir Ivanov, Akshay Dewalkar, K. Maneesha, Akarshi Kashyap, Siril Verma

Hyderabad Hunters – Carolina Marin (61.5 lakhs), Wee Kiong Tan, Chau Hoi Wah, Rajiv Ouseph, Sai Praneeth, Satwik Sairaj, Sameer Verma, Krishna Priya, Meghna J, Tan Boon Heong

Bengaluru Blasters – Viktor Axelsen (39 lakhs), Yoo Yeon Seong, Ashwini Ponnappa (15 lakhs), Porntip Buranaprasertsuk, Ruthvika Gadde, Sourabh Verma, Pranaav Chopra, Ko Sung Hyun, Sikki Reddy, Boonsak Ponsana

Chennai Smashers – Tommy Sugiarto, P V Sindhu (39 lakhs), Gabby Adcock, Tanongsak S, P Kashyap (8 lakhs), Chris Adcock, Mads Pieler Kolding, B Sumeeth Reddy, Ramya Tulasi, Arundhati Pantawane