Canelo Alvarez Defeats Julio Cesar Chavez Jr in a One-Sided Fight

Saul “Canelo” Alvarez dominated the fight from start against his Mexican compatriot Julio Cesar Chavez Jr. He won the one-sided fight by a unanimous decision on Saturday that left no doubt who is the biggest  Mexican boxer. All 3 judges scored the fight 120-108 for Alvarezz, giving him every round.  In case you miss the fight then here is Canelo Alvarez vs Chavez Jr highlights video and results.

Canelo Alvarez vs Julio Chavez Jr Replay Video

Mexico’s biggest boxing stars Canelo Alvarez and Julio Chavez Jr will take on each other in the ring on Saturday, May 6th at the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada. The current WBO junior middleweight champion Canelo Alvarez went up in weight to face former WBC middleweight champion Julio Cesar Chavez Jr. They will be fighting at a special catchweight of 164.5lbs and there is no official world title on the line.

The fight between the two boxers is more than the title, they will fight for the pride of their country. The bad blood between this two boxer was boiling from past couple of months. WBF has introduced special belt for the winner of the fight –  the Adolfo Lopez Mateos belt. An electrifying atmosphere is expected to be there at the venue.

Canelo Alvarez vs Chavez Jr Highlights Video

Canelo Alvarez vs Julio Chavez Jr Weigh-in

The official weigh-in took place on Friday in Las Vegas and both Julio Cesar Chavez Jr and Alvarez avoided a $1million fine by weighing in under the limit because as per contract if they failed to do it so then they would be fined $1million for every pound of weight over the agreed 164.5 lbs limit. Julio Chavez Jr weighs at 164.5lbs while Canelo Alvarez hit the scale at 164.5lbs.

PPV Fight Card: Canelo Alvarez vs. Julio Cesar Chavez Jr. (164.5 lbs catchweight, 12 rounds); David Lemieux vs. Marcos Reyes (163 lbs catchweights, 10 rounds); Lucas Matthysse vs. Emmanuel Taylor (welterweights, 12 rounds); Joseph Diaz Jr vs. Manuel Avila (featherweights, 10 rounds)

Canelo Alvarez vs Chavez Jr Highlights Video

The HBO PPV broadcast will start the fight at 9 PM ET/6 PM PT. The live coverage will start with preliminary card on Youtube at 7 PM ET/4 PM PT while the main event is expected to start at 11 PM ET/8 PM PT.  British boxing fans can watch all the matches live on BoxNation and main event on BT Sport. In case you missed the live fight due to any reason then you can come here Canelo Alvarez vs Chavez Jr highlights and full fight replay video.

Reply