Afghanistan to tour West Indies to play 3 T20Is, 3 ODIs in June 2017

The Afghanistan cricket team is all set to tour the West Indies in June this year to play three One-Day Internationals (ODIs), three Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) and a tour match. Originally the tour was going to consist of five ODIs and three T20Is.

It will be Afghanistan’s first bilateral tour against a full member nation other than Zimbabwe. The Afghanistan cricket team is set to begin their campaign with a tour match on 30th May at Warner Park, Basseterre.

The international matches will kick off with the Twenty20 series beginning on 2nd June and ending on 5th June with all the matches to be played at Warner Park in St. Kitts.

Then they will move onto the ODI series that will take place from 9th June to 14th June with all the matched to played out at the Darren Sammy National Cricket Stadium in Saint Lucia.

The series will be played concurrently with the ICC Champions Trophy, which begins on June 1 in England. West Indies failed to qualify for the Champions Trophy since they haven’t won a bilateral ODI series since 2014, beating Bangladesh at home.

With only the top eight teams gaining a direct entry into the 2019 World Cup in England, West Indies will be desperate to topple Pakistan, who are currently in eighth position the ICC rankings. With Pakistan also scheduled to play three ODIs in the Caribbean, West Indies will be hoping to climb up the rankings as only the top eight teams as of September end this year will gain automatic qualification for the ICC 2019 World Cup.

WICB Manager of Cricket Operations, Roland Holder said, “It will also be an important series for our side, as they look to move up in the ICC World Rankings in the two formats, and continue their quest to qualify for the 2019 ICC World Cup in England and Wales.”

West Indies and Afghanistan have never played an ODI against each other and the last time they squared up in a T20I, Afghanistan won by six runs, in a league match in the World T20 last year.

Afghanistan tour of West Indies Full Schedule:

30th May – Warm up game at Warner Park

2nd June – First T20I at Warner Park

3rd June – Second T20I at Warner Park

5th June – Third T20I at Warner Park

9th June – First ODI at Daren Sammy Cricket Ground

11th June – Second ODI at Daren Sammy Cricket Ground

14th June – Third ODI at Daren Sammy Cricket Ground