Caribbean Premier League (CPL T20) Winners List

The Caribbean Premier League also popularly known as CPL T20 is one of the most popular T20 cricket league in the world. It is the domestic Twenty20 cricket tournament played in the Caribbean. This annual cricket league takes place every year in the month of July-August between six teams.  There are four different CPL T20 winners so far who have won the championship title. Jamaica Tallawahs is the most successful team in the league who clinch the title twice.

The fifth season of the Caribbean Premier League is scheduled to start on 4th August and total six teams will battle it out for title. The inaugural edition of Caribbean Premier League was won by the Jamaica Tallawahs while 2nd and the third edition are won by Barbados Tridents and Trinbago Knight Riders in the year 2014 and 2015 respectively. Let’s see the complete Caribbean Premier League winners list below.

CPL T20 Winners

Caribbean Premier League CPL T20 Winners List

Year Winner Runner-up Venue
2013 Jamaica Tallawahs Guyana Amazon Warriors Trinidad
2014 Barbados Tridents Guyana Amazon Warriors St Kitts
2015 Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel Barbados Tridents Trinidad
2016 Jamaica Tallawahs Guyana Amazon Warriors St Kitts

Caribbean Premier League was started in the year 2013 following the success of Indian Premier League (IPL) and Big Bash League (BBL). Total six teams had competed in the first edition of CPL T20 tournament – Jamaica Tallawahs, Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel, Barbados Tridents, Guyana Amazon Warriors, St. Lucia Zouks, Antigua Hawksbills.

Each team in the league has to play 10 matches in a group stage to reach playoffs. The first playoffs match played between top two teams in the group stage while the 2nd playoff played between 3rd and 4th placed teams and winner of 2nd playoff play match play aginst loser of a 1st playoff in the 3rd playoff to reach final. The league become better and bigger with every season.