ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Qualified Teams & Format

ICC Champions Trophy 2017 will be the 8th edition and it will take place in England. Champions Trophy cricket tournament is the second most popular 50 over tournament after Cricket World Cup. The tournament is organised after every four years since 1998. The top 8 ODI ranked teams participate in ICC Champions Trophy.

ICC Champions Trophy 2017

The eight edition of the Champions Trophy will take place in England. The tournament will kick off on 1st June 2017 and final will be played on 18th June 2017.  The top 8 teams who have qualified according to ICC ODI ranking for the 2017 Champions Trophy are given below. West Indies has not qualified for the first time  while Bangladesh has qualified for the first time since 2006 for this tournament.

ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Format:

Total eight has qualified for the 2017 champions trophy. All the teams will be divided into two groups of four teams each. Each team in the group stage will play 1 game against other three and top two teams will qualify for the semi-finals. In the semi-final, Group 1 winners will take on Group 2 runners-up and Group 2 winners will play Group 1 runners-up.

ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Qualified Teams & Format

 ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Complete Details

HOSTS England
DATES 1st June 2017 to 18th June 2017
QUALIFIED TEAMS Australia, India, South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, England, Bangladesh & Pakistan
FORMAT Teams will be divided into 2 groups i.e four teams in each group. Every team will play 1 match against other three in the group stage. Top 2 teams will qualify for the semi-finals.
GROUP DRAW & SCHEDULE Group draw & complete schedule for Champions Trophy 2017 will announce in December 2016.
TOTAL MATCHES Total 15 matches (12 group matches, 2 semi-finals and 1 final)


Qualified Teams for ICC Champions Trophy 2017

Here is the list of top eight teams who qualified for ICC Champions Trophy 2017. Australia and India have won the ICC Champions Trophy twice while Sri Lanka, New Zealand and South Africa has won the title once.


(30th Sep 2015)

1 Australia 
2 India 
3 South Africa 
4 New Zealand 
5 Sri Lanka
6 England
7 Bangladesh
8 Pakistan