ICC Champions Trophy Winners List

ICC Champions Trophy Winners List (1998-2017): After the ICC Cricket World Cup, the second most important tournament in cricket world is ICC Champions Trophy. While we present you the ICC Champions Trophy winners list from way back the tournament ever started. The tournament was inaugurated since 1998 and named as the ICC Knockout tournament. However, the name was changed to ICC Champions Trophy in the year 2002.

Till 2006 the ICC Champions Trophy tournament was held in every 2 years. While due to the introduction of IPL in 2008 ICC Champions Trophy was concluded the very next year in 2009. From 2009 the ICC Champions Trophy is held in every 4 years and is also known as the mini World Cup. The 2017 Champions Trophy is won by Pakistan defeating the defending champion India by 180 runs.

ICC Champions Trophy Winners

Australia and India are the most successful team in the history of ICC Champions Trophy winning two tournaments. Aussies have won two consecutive titles in 2006 and 2009 while India has won titles in 2013 and 2002 (shared with Sri Lanka). Both the teams are favourite to win the ICC Champions Trophy 2017, in fact, Indian team are also the defending champion of the tournament.

The First two editions of the ICC Champions Trophy 1998 and 2000 was of straight Knockout format. Although South Africa won the inaugural ICC Champions Trophy tournament at Bangladesh. Later from 2002 in total 12 teams participated the tournament and were divided into the Group of 3 each.

While the top 2 teams from each group could enter the Quarter Final rounds. From 2006 only top 8 ICC ranking teams were allowed to play and had 2 Groups of 4 teams each since then. Here is the complete list of ICC Champions trophy winners since 1998.

ICC Champions Trophy Winners

1998 South Africa West Indies Dhaka, Bangladesh
2000 New Zealand India Nairobi, Kenya
2002 India and Sri Lanka (Rain) Sri Lanka
2004 West Indies England England
2006 Australia West Indies India
2009 Australia New Zealand South Africa
2013 India England England
2017 Pakistan India England

South Africa won the Opening ICC Champions Trophy tournament held at Bangladesh winning by 4 wickets against the West Indies. Whereas Newzealand won the  ICC Champions Trophy 2000 hosted at Kenya Defeating India by 4 wickets in the Finals. ICC Champions Trophy 2002 was abandoned due to rains and both the Finalist India and Sri Lanka were rewarded as the trophy winners.

The 2004 ICC Champions Trophy was won by West Indies beating the host England in the Finals by 2 wickets. Australia won the 2006 ICC Champions Trophy in India defeating the host country India through DL method. The 2009 ICC Champions Trophy South Africa was also won by Australia defeating the Kiwis comfortably by 6 wickets.

The recent 2013 ICC Champions Trophy was held in England where India led by MS Dhoni defeated the Host in the finals by 5 runs and become second time ICC Champions trophy winners. The Next ICC Champions Trophy 2017 will also be held in England again.