India Squad for England Series 2016: Hardik Pandya Surprise Pick

India Squad for England Series 2016: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the 15 man squad for the first two Tests in the 5-match home series against England which is scheduled to take place on the 9th November 2016. There is no such surprising selection except all-rounder Hardik Pandya who has been selected for the 2 Tests as a Rohit Sharma replacement who is currently injured. Gautam Gambhir has been retained while Ishant Sharma is back into the squad.

The right-hand batsman, Karun Nair who plays for Karnataka in Ranji Trophy along with off-spinner Jayant Yadav were also elected into the squad while opener Shikhar Dhawan failed to secure a place in the team squad.

India Squad for England Series 2016

KL Rahul also failed to make a place due to his hamstring injury during the New Zealand Test series. Team India’s Test skipper Virat Kohli will lead the side against Alastair Cook’s side in the exciting 5-match Test series.

The first match of the series to be played at Rajkot from November 9-13 while 2nd match will be played at the Visakapatnam from November 17-21. Check out the complete India vs England Series 2016 Schedule.

India Squad for England Series 2016 (2 Test Matches)

This is almost the same team who whitewash New Zealand in the 3-Test series. Here is the Indian team squad.

1. Virat Kohli (Captain)

2. Ajinkya Rahane (Vice Captain)

3. Gautam Gambhir

4. Murali Vijay

5. Cheteshwar Pujara

6. Hardik Pandya

7. Wriddhiman Saha (Wicket-keeper)

8. Ravichandran Ashwin

9. Ravindra Jadeja

10. Karun Nair

11. Amit Mishra

12. Mohammad Shami

13. Ishant Sharma

14. Umesh Yadav

15. Jayant Yadav