Rohit Sharma, Shami Return To Indian Squad For Champions Trophy

BCCI announced the Indian squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2017 after a meeting in Delhi today. MSK Prasad-led panel of selectors team announcement brings a great relief for all the Indians fans who were in amidst about India taking part in this years champion trophy. Indian will start the Champions Trophy as a clear favourite but there would also have to cope with the pressure of being the defending champions. Men in Blue will start their campaign against arch-rival Pakistan on June 4.

India won the tournament last in 2013 after they beat the host nation, England in the highly contested final. The Indians fans would be hoping that team could replace last time’s performance. But, there are many changes in the squad that took part in the last edition.

Indian Squad For ICC Champions Trophy 2017

The major change is the team would be under the leadership of Virat Kohli. It will be the first time that Virat will lead the side in any major ICC tournament. He would to make his opportunity and count and prove that he could replicate what MS Dhoni did in 2013. He would have the support of MS Dhoni who will play in this tournament as a wicket-keeper batsman. It might also be last champions trophy for Dhoni and he would love to win this trophy again. Anjiakya Rahane would be the vice-captain for this tournament.

The batting lineup looks solid for the Indian side. The major news is the return of last time’s hero Shikhar Dhawan. He was the main reason that Indian went on to win the trophy last time around. He makes a comeback after a good show in the IPL. Also, Rohit Sharma makes a comeback to the squad after being sidelined for more than 6 month due to injury that he suffered in the series against New Zeland.

The middle order looks very strong with the likes of Yuvraj Singh, who also makes a comeback to the Indian squad. He will have the support of MS Dhoni and Kedar Jadhav, who impressed a lot in the recent time with his batting performance. Manish Pandey also finds a place in the squad.

The most important thing is that selectors have gone with the four fast bowlers. These bowlers will play the crucial role if India has to win the tournament. The pace attack would be led by Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, who is in the top form at this time. He will have the support of Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bhumrah.

In the all-rounder department, India will have the services of Hardik Pandya, Ravi Jadeja, Ravi Ashwin. Aswin will also bake a comeback after suffering from Hernia.

But, there were many players like Nitish Rana, Rishav Pant who have performed well in the IPL but missed on the opportunity to play in the champions trophy. India will play their first match against Pakistan on 4th June.

Indian Squad For ICC Champions Trophy 2017: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Manish Pandey.