IPL 2017: Rohit Sharma Reprimanded for Showing Dissent

Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma has landed himself into trouble as he has been reprimanded by the match referee for showing dissent to the umpire after he has wrongly adjudged LBW in the match against the Kolkata Knight Riders(KKR) in Wankhede yesterday night.

The incident occurred at a crucial stage in the innings after the two-time champions Mumbai Indians(MI) were made to chase a big total of 179. It was the tenth over of the innings and the Mumbai Indians skipper had just come into bat looking to settle the innings after the team had just lost two quick wickets, and was just on 2 when he has adjudged LBW by umpire CK Nandan to the bowling of Sunil Narine.

The replays showed that the ball smashed the face of the bat before hitting the pad. And Rohit Sharma didn’t hold back his emotions as he gestured angrily towards the umpire by showing his bat and telling him that he clearly hit it.

“Rohit Sharma, the Mumbai Indians captain, was reprimanded by the match referee for showing excessive, obvious disappointment with an Umpire’s decision during his team’s contest against the Kolkata Knight Riders at the Wankhede Stadium,” an official BCCI statement read.

“Mr Sharma admitted to the Level 1 offence 2.1.5 of the IPL Code of Conduct for Players and Team Officials.

“For Level 1 breaches of the IPL Code of Conduct, the Match Referee’s decision is final and binding,” the report added.

It is already the second such incident of this IPL. Earlier, during Rising Pune Supergiant’s first match of the season against Mumbai Indians,  MS Dhoni was reprimanded by the match referee for jokingly asking for a referral (DRS) for an LBW.

Reply