IPL Most Fours Record

IPL Most Fours: The world’s most popular T20 cricket league, Indian Premier League provides a platform for all cricket players to showcase their whole array of shots. Some like to do it in an innovative way while some like to do it with power. But there are some people who even in a T20 format, like to play the conventional way, i.e., by playing minimum risk cricket and believe in their ability to find the gaps and keep the ball along the ground and still score at a pretty hefty run rate and be successful. So, we look at the top players with most no of fours (Boundaries) in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

IPL Most Fours Record

IPL Most Fours Record

Player Team Span 4s Mat Runs HS
Gautam Gambhir DD, KKR 2008-17 452 137 3830 93
Suresh Raina CSK, GL 2008-17 373 151 4234 100*
Virat Kohli RCB 2008-17 367 141 4200 113
DA Warner DD, SRH 2008-17 364 105 3608 109*
S Dhawan SRH 2008-17 363 118 3217 95*
RV Uthappa KKR. MI. RCB 2008-17 351 140 3492 83*
Virendra Sehwag DD, KXIP 2008-15 334 104 2728 122
RG Sharma MI 2008-17 326 147 3923 109*
AM Rahane MI, RR. RPS 2008-17 297 100 2794 103*
Sachin Tendulkar MI 2008-13 295 78 2334 100*
CH Gayle KKR, RCB 2008-17 283 95 3486 175*
AB de Villiers RCB 2008-17 279 123 3394 133*
Rahul Dravid RCB, RR 2008-13 268 89 2174 75*
KD Karthik DD, GL, KXIP, MI, RCB 2008-17 266 142 2670 86
PA Patel CSK,DC,KTK,MI,RCB,SRH 2008-17 262 106 2015 81
BB McCullum CSK, GL, KTK, KKR 2008-17 263 96 2587 158*
SR Watson RR.RCB 2008-17 257 98 2587 104*
Jacques Kallis RCB, KKR 2008-14 255 98 2427 89*
MS Dhoni CSK, RPS 2008-17 240 148 3332 70*
Adam Gilchrist DC. KXIP 2008-13 239 80 2069 109*
M Vijay CSK, DD, KXIP 2008-16 237 100 2511 127
YK Pathan RR, KKR 2008-17 237 139 2847 100
SE Marsh KXIP 2008-16 230 62 2213 115

Top 5 Players With Most Fours In The IPL History

5. David Warner

 The big-hitting Australian David Warner became the part of the IPL when he was signed by the Delhi Daredevils for the 2009 and 2010 seasons. He was again brought back by the DD team till the 2013 season. In 2014 season, he was bought by the Sunrisers Hyderabad and in the 2015 season, he became the IPL’s leading run-getter even without the team getting to the playoffs stage.  He continued to lead the team in the 2016 season and help them win the title against the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB).

He has hit 353 fours in 103 matches with a strike rate of 142.82 and an average of 39.02

4. Shikhar Dhawan:

 “Gabbar” played for the Delhi Daredevils in the inaugural Indian Premier League and made 4 half centuries. He was also the third highest scorer of the Delhi Daredevils team. He was traded to the Mumbai Indians in exchange for Ashish Nehra. He played for the Mumbai Indians in the second and third season of the IPL. For the fourth season, he was bought by the Deccan Chargers. He was selected captain of the Sunrisers Hyderabad team prior to the start of the 2013 Champions League Twenty20 tournament.

He won the 2016 Indian Premier League with Sunrisers Hyderabad after putting strong batting performances alongside Captain David Warner, scoring 501 runs in 17 matches at an average of 38.53 in the tournament.  He has hit 358 fours in 116 matches with a strike rate of 120.92 and an average of 32.11

3. Virat Kohli: 

In March 2008, the Indian Cricket Team Captain was bought on a youth contract by the Indian Premier League franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore. He had a poor 2008 season, with a total of 165 runs in 12 innings at an average of 15.00 and a strike rate of 105.09.He played slightly better in the second season in which he made a total of 246 runs at 22.36, striking at over 112. In the 2010 season, Kohli was the third highest run-getter for his team with 307 runs, averaging 27.90 and improving his strike rate to 144.81.Ahead of the 2011 season, Kohli was the only player retained by the Royal Challengers franchise.

Kohli was the second highest run-getter of the season. Kohli accumulated a total of 557 runs at an average of 46.41 and a strike rate of 121.Kohli was appointed as the team’s captain for the 2013 season. He had great success with the bat averaging 45.28, and he hit a total of 634 runs at a strike rate of over 138 including six fifties and a top score of 99 and finished as the season’s third highest run-scorer.

At the 2016 IPL, Kohli broke the record for most runs in an IPL season (of 733 runs) by scoring 973 runs in 16 matches at an average of 81.08, winning the Orange Cap. He scored four centuries in the tournament, having never scored one in the Twenty20 format before the start of the season, and also became the first player to reach the 4000-run milestone in the IPL.

He has hit 364 fours in 140 matches with a strike rate of 130.42 and an average of 38.27

Suresh Raina:

Raina was signed by the Chennai Super Kings for the first three years of the tournament. Raina made significant contributions in the first edition of the tournament. Again in 2010 IPL, Raina’s consistent batting throughout the series won him applause and he became the all-time run-getter of the league. In the 2011 IPL too, Raina maintained his reputation as the leading run-scorer with 438 runs, again being the only player to cross 400 do so for all the seven seasons.

In 2012 IPL, he became Chennai’s leading run scorer, scoring 441 runs and on the course became the only player to score 400 runs in every IPL. He became the first player in the history of IPL to cross the mark of 2000 IPL runs. In 2013 IPL, he scored 548 runs at a healthy average of 42.15 and strike rate of 150.13. In 2016, Raina was signed by the Gujarat Lions after the suspension of CSK. He captained the team for the season, and remained consistent with batting, scoring 399 runs in 15 innings.

He has hit 371 fours in 150 matches with a strike rate of 138.40 and an average of 34.19.

1. Gautam Gambhir:

Gambhir was picked up by the Delhi Daredevils franchise in the first player auction of the Indian Premier League. He became the second highest run-scorer of the inaugural season with 534 runs from 14 matches. He was promoted to the post of Captain of the Delhi Daredevils for IPL Season 2010. At the end of the tournament, he became the only player from Delhi Daredevils to score more than 1000 runs in the IPL. In the 2011 IPL player auction, Gambhir was the most sought after player, fetching a bid of $2.4 million from The Kolkata Knight Riders, making him the highest paid cricketer in the history of IPL.

He was then appointed as the skipper of the team. Under Gambhir’s captaincy, the Kolkata Knight Riders qualified for the IPL playoffs and also made it to the Champions League Twenty20 for the first time. He eventually led the side to their first title in 2012 by defeating defending champions Chennai Super Kings. During the same season, he scored 6 half-centuries out of a total of nine from his team and became only the second player to cross the 2000 runs mark in the history of the IPL and the second highest run scorer ever in the tournament.

He has hit 448 fours in 135 matches with a strike rate of 125.15 and an average of 31.67.