List of hat-trick takers in the IPL history

IPL Most Hat-trick Takers Bowlers record: We have all witnessed the batsmen hitting huge centuries and hitting six sixes in an over in the shortest format of the game. But the bowlers have also shown some magical performances and picked up some amazing hat-tricks to help their team turn the game on its head. So, we look at the list of the players who have taken hat-tricks in the IPL.

IPL Most Hat-trick Takers Bowlers

IPL Most Hat-trick Takers List

Player Team Year Opp Venue Date
L Balaji CSK 2008 KXIP Chennai 10 May 08
Amit Mishra DD 2008 DC Delhi 15 May 08
Makhaya Ntini CSK 2008 KKR Kolkata 18 May 08
Yuvraj Singh KXIP 2009 RCB Durban 01 May 09
Rohit Sharma DC 2009 MI Centurion 06 May 09
Yuvraj Singh KXIP 2009 DC Johannesburg 17 May 09
Praveen Kumar RCB 2010 RR Bangalore 18 Mar 10
Amit Mishra DC 2011 KXIP Dharamsala 21 May 11
Ajit Chandila RR 2012 PWI Jaipur 13 May 12
Sunil Narine KKR 2013 KXIP Mohali 16 Apr 13
Amit Mishra SRH 2013 PWI Pune 17 Apr 13
AR Patel KXIP 2016 GL Rajkot 01 May 16
S Badree RCB 2017 MI Bangalore 14 Apr 17
Andrew Tye GL 2017 RPS Rajkot 14 Apr 17

List of hat-trick takers in the IPL history

1. Andrew Tye:

He made his Indian Premier League (IPL) debut in the 2017 IPL for the Gujarat Lions side and registered the best bowling figures by a bowler on IPL debut (5/17) and took a hat-trick. Tye dismissed Ankit Tiwari for 25 when he was caught on the first ball of the 20th over of Rising Pune Supergiant’s innings. Next, Tye dismissed Manoj Tiwary for 31 and then clean bowled Shardul Thakur for a golden duck for his hat-trick.

2. Samuel Badree:

The West Indies leg-spinner made his international debut in a T20I in 2012. Badree made his IPL debut with Rajasthan Royals in the 2013 season. He was picked up by CSK in the IPL Player Auction 2014. He was acquired by Royal Challengers Bangalore in the 2016 auction. He picked up the first hattrick of 2017 IPL edition as in the fourth over of the Mumbai Indians Innings, the West Indian bowled a looped delivery outside off-stump and Parthiv gave away an easy catch to Gayle at extra-cover. Then, Mitchell McClenaghan hit a full-toss straight to Mandeep Singh who was fielding at long on. But it was his third wicket which was the best of the three. Mumbai skipper Rohit Sharma failed to pick the googly and the ball rattled his stumps.

3. Axar Patel:

The bowling all-rounder from Gujarat had earned his maiden IPL contract with the Mumbai Indians ahead of IPL 2013. He followed that up with 369 runs in seven matches and 29 wickets for Gujarat during the 2013-14 season of the Ranji Trophy and was then bought by KXIP ahead of the 2014 edition of IPL. He picked up a hattrick in the 2016 edition of the IPL against the Gujarat Lions. The left-arm spinner got the first wicket by getting one to skid through Dinesh Karthik’s inside edge and the ball clattered into leg stump. Dwayne Bravo chopped the first ball he faced onto his stumps and the over ended.  Brought back in the 11th over, Axar then got his first ball to dart past Ravindra Jadeja’s outside edge. It seemed like bat had hit the pad, but the umpire raised his finger.

4. Shane Watson:

The superstar all-rounder from Australia picked the 2nd hat-trick of IPL 2014 against Sunrisers Hyderabad. Watson dismissed Shikhar Dhawan on the last ball of innings’ 4th over. He returned to bowl the 17th over and picked two wickets in two balls to complete the 2nd hat-trick of this season. He dismissed Moises Henriques and Karn Sharma.

5. Pravin Tambe:

The 42-year-old spinner who has been plying his skills in the maidens of Mumbai became a sensation when he turned out for Rajasthan Royals in the 2013 season of the Indian Premier League. With 12 wickets from five matches, he bagged the Golden Wicket award in CLT20 2013. The club cricket veteran is a highly-regarded leg-spinner and a useful middle-order batsman. Tambe was with Gujarat Lions in 2016 and was picked up by the Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2017. Pravin Tambe picked up three consecutive wickets in 2014 while playing against KKR. He dismissed Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan and Ryan ten Doeschate on the trot.

6. Amit Mishra:

Amit Mishra is the only player who has picked up 3 hattricks in his IPL career. He picked up his third hattrick against Pune Warriors India in 2013.The dismissals involved Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rahul Sharma and Ashok Dinda.

Sunil Narine:

The Caribbean spinner picked a hattrick against Kings XI Punjab in 2013. His victims were David Hussey, Azhar Mahmood and Gurkeerat Singh in the 16th over.

7. Ajit Chandila:

The tainted bowler from Rajasthan Royals Ajit Chandila too had a hat trick to his name. He achieved this against Pune Warriors India in 2012. Chandila dismissed Jesse Ryder and Sourav Ganguly off the last 2 deliveries of first over and Robin Uthappa in the next over.

8. Amit Mishra:

The leg-spinner again picked up his second hattrick and this time he was a part of Deccan Chargers and was up against KXIP in 2011.This time his dismissals were Ryan McLaren, Mandeep Singh and Ryan Harris in the 16th over.

9. Praveen Kumar:

Praveen Kumar was a part of Royal Challengers Bangalore back then. In 2010, while playing for RCB against Rajasthan Royals, the UP quick bowler added a new feather in his hat. His hattrick included the wickets of Damien Martyn, Sumit Narwal and Paras Dogra in the 17th over.

10. Yuvraj Singh:

The 2009 IPL edition, Yuvraj took the responsibility with the ball against the Deccan Chargers. He ripped apart the Chargers’ middle order as the left-handed bowler picked Herschelle Gibbs on the last delivery of 12th over and Andrew Symonds and Venugopal Rao in the first 2 deliveries of 14th over. He also became the first bowler to pick up two IPL hattricks.

11. Rohit Sharma:

None of us would have ever expected the hitman to be a part of this club. Rohit came as a surprise for everyone after he picked up three in three against Mumbai Indians in 2009. Rohit dismissed Abhishek Nayar and Harbhajan Singh on the last 2 deliveries of 16th over and JP Duminy off the first delivery of 18th over.

12. Yuvraj Singh:

He bagged his first hattrick against DC. Yuvraj picked up Robin Uthappa and Jacques Kallis on last 2 deliveries of 12th over and then completed the Hattrick by dismissing Mark Boucher on the first delivery of 14th over.

13. Makhaya Ntini:

The CSK fast bowler achieved the feat in 2008 when he dismissed Sourav Ganguly on the last ball of the 5th over and took 2 wickets in the first 2 balls of the 17th over by dismissing Debabrata Das and David Hussey.

14. Amit Mishra:

In 2008, in the match between Delhi Daredevils and Deccan Chargers, Mishra emerged as a night mare for the Chargers. He dismissed Dwaraka Ravi Teja, Pragyan Ojha and RP Singh on the first 3 balls of the final over of the match. Mishra picked up figures of 5/12.

15. Lakshmipathy Balaji:

Lakshmipathy Balaji became the first ever bowler to pick up a hattrick in IPL. He achieved the feat against KXIP in 2008 where the fast bowler dismissed Irfan Pathan, Piyush Chawla and VRV Singh in the last over of the match.