IPL Most Wickets Record

IPL Most Wickets Record: We all know that T20 is a batsman’s game and fans come to witness fours and sixes hit all over the park. But it’s the bowlers who take the wickets and help their team to keep the opponent’s total down and help them win the match. So, we look at the players with most wickets in the history of the Indian Premier league (IPL).

IPL Most Wickets Record

IPL Most Wickets Record

Players Team Wkts Matches Balls Best Eco
SL Malinga Mumbai Indians 146 100 2337  5-13 7
A Mishra Delhi Daredevils 127 114 2436  5-17 7
DJ Bravo Gujarat Lions 122 106 2017  4-19 8
PP Chawla Kolkata Knight Riders 122 125 2485  4-17 8
Harbhajan Singh Mumbai Indians 121 128 2745  5-13 7
A Nehra Sunrisers 102 85 1853  4-10 8
R Vinay Kumar Mumbai Indians 101 102 2080  4-30 8
R Ashwin Rising Pune Supergiants 100 111 2290  4-8 7
Z Khan Delhi Daredevils 97 91 2001  4-17 8
Bhuvneshwar Kumar Sunrisers 92 79 1739  4-8 7
DW Steyn Gujarat Lions 92 90 2058  3-8 7
RP Singh Rising Pune Supergiants 90 82 1775  4-13 8
PP Ojha Mumbai Indians 89 92 1899  3-11 7
SP Narine Kolkata Knight Riders 87 69 1643  5-19 6
P Kumar Gujarat Lions 86 116 2473  3-18 8
JA Morkel Rising Pune Supergiants 85 91 1723  4-29 8
SR Watson Royal Challengers Bangalore 82 97 1754  4-15 8
IK Pathan Rising Pune Supergiants 80 102 2031  3-16 8
UT Yadav Kolkata Knight Riders 78 81 1667  4-24 8
RA Jadeja Gujarat Lions 78 127 1721  5-16 8

Top 5 Bowlers With Highest Wickets in IPL History

5. Harbhajan Singh:

Harbhajan Singh led the Mumbai Indians (MI) to their first Twenty20 title in 2011 when they beat the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the final of the Champions League T20. A key component of the Mumbai Indians side, the Turbanator has been with the team right from the start. He understands the setup really well and his vast IPL experience of having played over 100 games is a big plus. In the seventh and eighth seasons, Harbhajan bowled extremely well picking up 14 and 18 wickets respectively.

He has picked up 121wickets in 126 matches with an average of 26.34 and an economy rate of 6.96.

4. Piyush Chawla:

Chawla played in the IPL for the Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) team from 2008 to 2013. He has had a successful time at Punjab. After IPL 4 he had taken 57 in 55 matches and only 5 players had a better record at the time. He was sold for USD 900000 to KXIP in 4th Edition of IPL. Chawla was bought by Kolkata Knight Riders for INR 425 lac in IPL 7 auction. Chawla has put up notable performances for the Knight Riders over the past couple of years with his tidy leg-spinners and handy lower order contributions with the bat. His most notable performance came in the final of the 2014 IPL edition when he hit the winning runs keeping his calm in the final overs of the match to lead his side to the title.

He has picked up 122 wickets in 124 matches with an average of 25.82 and an economy rate of 7.60.

3. Dwayne Bravo:

Dwayne Bravo played for the Mumbai Indians (MI) in the Indian Premier League for the first three seasons. He was picked up by the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) during 2011 IPL Auctions. He was one of the top performing players in the 2012 IPL playing for Chennai Super Kings (CSK) scoring 461 runs at an average of 57 of a strike rate of 178. He was also the team’s highest wicket taker with 19 wickets. He also performed well in the 2013 IPL, taking 32 wickets at an average of 9.15 to win the Purple Cap and overthrow Albie Morkel to become Chennai Super Kings’s leading wicket taker.

During IPL 2014 he sustained a shoulder injury in the first match against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) and was subsequently ruled out of the remaining matches.  He performed well in the 2015 IPL, taking 26 wickets and winning the purple cap for the second time. He is the only man who has won 2 purple caps. After the suspension of Chennai Super Kings (CSK) for 2 years, he was bought by Gujarat Lions (GL).

He has picked up wickets 122 in 103 matches with an average of 25.57 and an economy rate of 8.18.

2. Amit Mishra:

Amit Mishra was impressive in IPL 2008 when he picked up a hat-trick while playing for the Delhi Daredevils (DD). Mishra has been a consistent wicket-taker in the tournament and has also made several useful contributions in the lower order with his timely cameos. Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) ensured he was back in their ranks for IPL 2014 by signing him on for INR 4.75 crore during the year’s IPL Player Auction. In the 2015 edition of the auction, Mishra was signed up by Delhi Daredevils (DD) yet again.

He has picked up 127 wickets in 114 matches with an average of 23.27 and an economy rate of 7.29.

1. Lasith Malinga:

Malinga plays for Mumbai Indians (MI). He is their strike bowler in this format and is a leading bowler in the competition. He also holds the record for the most bowled dismissals in Twenty20 cricket. After missing IPL 2008 due to a knee injury, he was at his devastating best in IPL 2009. In IPL 2010, he carried the Mumbai Indians (MI) to the final. In the first match for the Mumbai Indians (MI) in the fourth season, he got 5 wickets against Delhi Daredevils (DD) restricting them to a mere 95.

He won the Purple Cap award in the fourth season of IPL with 28 scalps in 16 matches. Throughout the tournament, he led the Mumbai Indians (MI) attack from the front and was instrumental in many victories. In the 2011 Champions League T20 (CL T20), he was the highest wicket-taker in the tournament and won the golden wicket for this performance and won the award for the player of the tournament.

He has picked up 146 wickets in 100 matches with an average of 18.11 and an economy rate of 6.76.