IPL Winners List from 2008 to 2019

Indian Premier League or popularly known as IPL is a professional T20 cricket league in India. It is the biggest and most popular T20 cricket league in the world and was founded by the BBCCI in 2007. IPL is the most-attended cricket league and ranks sixth among all sports leagues in the world. As per Duff & Phelps, the estimated brand value of IPL was $4.16 billion in 2016. The IPL 2019 about to start on March 23 and will conclude on May 17. So, far total of six teams has emerged as IPL winners.

Total eight teams play each year to become IPL champions and but only one team able to lift the shining trophy. Every team play against each other twice in a home-and-away round-robin format in the group stage of the competition. Indian Premier League IPL 2019 total prize money is around $8 million and IPL 2019 winner will get Rs 15 crore prize money and trophy. Since its inception, total thirteen teams have played in the Indian Premier League and out of those only six teams have won the title.

IPL Winners Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians is the most successful team in the history of the IPL who won it thrice while Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders have become the IPL winners twice. Rajasthan Royals, Sunrises Hyderabad and Deccan Chargers have won once so far. Mumbai Indians are the current IPL champions having won the 2017 season against RPS.

Let’s have a look at IPL winners list from 2008 to 2019 with the result, year and runner-ups teams. 

IPL Winners List

Year Winner Result Runner-up
2008 Rajasthan Royals Royals won by 3 wickets Chennai Super Kings
2009 Deccan Chargers Chargers won by 6 runs Royal Challengers Bangalore
2010 Chennai Super Kings Super Kings won by 22 runs Mumbai Indians
2011 Chennai Super Kings Super Kings won by 58 runs Royal Challengers Bangalore
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Knight Riders won by 5 wickets Chennai Super Kings
2013 Mumbai Indians Indians won by 23 runs Chennai Super Kings
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Knight Riders won by 3 wickets Kings XI Punjab
2015 Mumbai Indians Indians won by 41 runs Chennai Super Kings
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad SRH won by 8 runs Royal Challengers Bangalore
2017 Mumbai Indians MI Won by 1 run  Rising Pune Supergiant
2018 Chennai Super Kings CSK won Sunrisers Hyderabad

Here is the list of prize money for IPL 2018

  1. IPL 2017 Winner: INR 15 crore and a golden trophy
  2. Runners-Up: INR 10 crore
  3. Perfect Catch of the Season: INR 10 lakh
  4. Most Runs in the IPL 2017: INR 10 lakh.
  5. Purple Cap holder: INR 10 lakh
  6. The most valuable player: INR 10 lakh

Indian Premier League Current Teams

Here are all the eight teams who will fight to become IPL 2018 winners.

Team City State Joined
Delhi Daredevils Delhi Delhi 2008
Kings XI Punjab Mohali Punjab 2008
Kolkata Knight Riders Kolkata West Bengal 2008
Mumbai Indians Mumbai Maharashtra 2008
Royal Challengers Bangalore Bangalore Karnataka 2008
Sunrisers Hyderabad Hyderabad Telangana 2013
Chennai Super Kings Chennai Chennai 2008
Rajasthan Royals Jaipur Rajasthan 2008


    • subrat kumar
    • Lucky
  1. abdul nasir
  2. Sham
  3. Ranjith murnad
  4. Abhishek kumar jha
  5. gaurav
  6. Khagesh saini
  7. rudr
  8. Gopi
  9. subrat kumar
  10. Vikas kumar
  11. Chayan
  12. farhan Jutt
  13. Spencer
  14. Ambuj
    • Mohammad. Iqbal Hossain
  15. Mohammad. Iqbal Hossain
  16. Vijay Kumar
  17. Vishnu
  18. Vikas singh
  19. sohel marle