Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) 2017 Team Squad & Schedule

Kolkata Knight Riders popularly known as KKR is a cricket team representing Kolkata city of India in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The team is owned by famous Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan, actress Juhi Chawla and her spouse Jay Mehta. The Indian cricketer Gautam Gambhir is skipper of the team and coached by former KKR player and South African all-rounder Jacques Kallis. The home ground of the Kolkata Knight Riders is Eden Gardens which is the largest cricket stadium in India.

KKR is all set for the IPL 2017 which begins in April and has retained their 15 players from last year’s squad. They have retained 9 Indian players and 6 foreign players. Gautam Ghambir will remain as captain of Kolkata team for this also while players like Piyush Chawla, Robin Uthappa, Umesh Yadav and Yusuf Pathan have been retained by the team. The players bought by KKR in the IPL 2017 auction are Trent Boult, Chris Woakes, Rishi Dhawan, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rovman Powell, R Sanjay Yadav, Ishank Jaggi, Darren Bravo and Sayan Ghosh.

Kolkata Knight Riders Team 2016

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) 2017 Team Squad

No.  Retained Players  Players bought in Auction
1 India  Gautam Gambhir (Captain) 23px-Flag_of_Australia.svg  Trent Boult (₹5 crore)
2 India  Robin Uthappa 23px-Flag_of_Australia.svg  Nathan Coulter-Nile (₹3.5 crore)
3 India  Piyush Chawla India  Rishi Dhawan (₹55 lakh)
4 India  Umesh Yadav India  Ishank Jaggi (₹10 lakh)
5 India  Manish Pandey  West-Indies  Darren Bravo (Rs. 50 Lakh)
6 India  Yusuf Pathan India  Sayan Ghosh (₹10 lakh)
7 West-Indies Sunil Narine  India  Sanjay Yadav (₹10 lakh)
8 India  Suryakumar Yadav  Chris Woakes (₹4.2 crore)
9 23px-Flag_of_Australia.svg  Chris Lynn  West-Indies Rovman Powell (₹30 lakh)
10 South-AFrica-cricket-flag  Shakib Al Hasan
India  Sheldon Jackson
12 West-Indies  Andre Russell
15 India  Kuldeep Yadav

Kolkata Knight Riders Team: The leading run-scorer of the KKR is Gautam Gambhir while the leading wicket-taker is Sunil Narine. The brand value of the Knight Riders was estimated at $86 million in 2015 which is the highest valuation amongst all eight teams.

The official theme song of the team is Korbo, Lorbo, Jeetbo Re and the official colours are purple and gold. They are one of the most popular teams in the tournament and has the brand value of $86 million in 2015 which is the highest valuation amongst all eight teams.

Kolkata Knight Riders have won IPL two times back in 2012 and 2014 and considered as one of the favourite to win Vivo IPL 2017 title. The team’s key players are Manish Pandey, Gautam Gambir, Robin Uthappa, Yusuf Pathan, Andre Rusell, Umesh Yadav and Sunil Narine.

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Team

Home ground Eden Gardens
Captains Sourav Ganguly (2008-10), Brendon McCullum (2009), Gautam Gambhir (2011-present)
Coaches John Buchanan (2008-09), Dav Whatmore (2010-11), Trevor Bayliss (2012–2015), Jacques Kallis (2016–present)
IPL Title 2012 Indian Premier League, 2014 Indian Premier League
Seasons 2008 to 2016

Kolkata Knight Riders 2017 Prediction: The team will look to improve their performance in the IPL 2017. KKR will definitely be looking forward to winning IPL 2017 title with some new players bought in the auction. They have to make right batting and bowling combination to win the IPL 2017.