Top 10 Most Successful Captains in IPL History

The team is as good as it’s captain. The captain of any team sets the tone and moral of the team. If the captain is confident and motivating then it is obvious that the team would perform well in all matches. Leadership is the special skill that everyone can not be good at. You might be the best in you department but this does not mean that you are a good leader.

A good leader always lead the team by example. The captains should perform brilliantly I the field so that other players could see the effort put by the captain and would be motivated to do the same.

In a T20 game, where the match swings from one side to the other after every over, the role of the captain becomes even more critical. He should be quick to make changes in the bowling or do something that surprises the opponent and takes your team in the good position. Here is the list of top 5 most successful captains in IPL.

5. Shane Warne

Warne has always been in the news for both cricketing and non-cricketing matters. He showed his cricketing brain when he was made the captain of the Rajasthan Royals in the first season of the IPL in 2008. Warne had a young team at his disposal and even no one would have given them a chance to win the trophy but he proved all wrong. He has led the side in 55 matches and won 30 of them.

4. Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir started his IPL captaincy stint with Delhi Daredevils in 2009 but he failed to impress everybody with his captaincy. He then moved to Kolkata Knight Riders when it all changed for him. He led the side to the trophy not once but twice in 2012 and 2014. He is the opening batsman for the team and looks to lead the team by setting a good batting display in the top order. He has captained in 107 matches and won 61 of them.

3. MS Dhoni

The number three position is occupied by the India’s most successful captain. He has repeated the same success in the Indian Premier League also. He leads the CSK team twice to the trophy back to back and also won the Champions league. He has led the side in 143 matches and won 83 of them.

2. Rohit Sharma

The Mumbai batsman became the captain of Mumbai Indians in the 2013 season. Rohit led the Mumbai Indians to another title in 2015. Rohit is also the third highest run-scorer in all Indian Premier League which sets the example for all the other players. He has captained 58 matches and won 34 of them.

1. Sachin Tendulkar

most successful captains in IPL

The god of cricket takes the top position in the most successful captains in IPL list. He has captained for 51 matches in the IPL and won 30 of them. He might not have the long term as the captain but he leads his side to final once where they lost to Chennai Super Kings (CSK).