Natwest T20 Blast Winners List

Natwest T20 Blast Winners List: The tournament was started in the year 2003 as English Twenty20 Cup but later in 2010, the competition renamed as Friends Life T20. In the year 2014, England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) once again decided to rename the cricket tournament as Natwest T20 Blast. The ongoing Natwest T20 Blast 2018 winner will get after the final which is set to be played on September 15. The final and two semi-final matches will take place on the same day.

The T20 tournament is run by ECB and it was started in back 2014 replacing the Friends Life t20 competition. The inaugural edition of the competition was won by Surrey and till now total thirteen seasons has been held and won by nine different teams. Let’s take a look at the Natwest T20 Blast winners list since 2003.

Natwest T20 Blast winners list

Natwest T20 Blast Winners List

Year Winner Runners-up
2003 Surrey Warwickshire
2004 Leicestershire Surrey
2005 Somerset Lancashire
2006 Leicestershire Nottinghamshire
2007 Kent Gloucestershire
2008 Middlesex Kent
2009 Sussex Somerset
2010 Hampshire Somerset
2011 Leicestershire Somerset
2012 Hampshire Yorkshire
2013 Northamptonshire Surrey
2014 Warwickshire Lancashire
2015 Lancashire Northamptonshire
2016 Northamptonshire Durham
2017 Nottinghamshire Outlaws Birmingham Bears
2018 TBA TBA

Leicestershire is the most successful team in the tournament. They won the title thrice in 2004, 2006 and in 2011. Northamptonshire has won the Natwest T20 Blast twice which makes him the 2nd most successful team in the history of the tournament. The tournament is considered as the most attended season of T20 cricket in England since the format began in 2003.

The fourth season of the domestic T20 competition, Natwest T20 Blast 2017 consists total 18 first-class county teams divided into two divisions of nine teams. The final of 2017 season is scheduled to take place at Edgbaston Cricket Ground in Birmingham on 2 September 2017. Northamptonshire is the defending champion of the season who won 2015 final by defeating Durham. The first season of NatWest T20 Blast was won by Birmingham Bears by 4 runs while the second season was won by Lancashire Lightning won by 13 runs.