Players set to change teams ahead of the 2017 BPL Season 5

These are good days for Cricket in Bangladesh. The team is winning matches and finally performing on the big-stage and the players are making big-bucks and more importantly getting the importance that they deserve. The pre-season proceedings of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2017 is an evidence of the above fact. The upcoming season of BPL is set to begin from the 4 November 2017.

All the players in the A-plus category have got a master card. These players get to chose the team they want to play for. This gives them a huge incentive and also would bring in them big bucks. The franchises have been told to submit the name of maximum 4 players that they want to retain.

Players set to change teams ahead of the 2017 BPL Season 5

And this retention list may well include the A-plus category players but they can only retain the A-plus category players after consultation and agreement with those players. Few of the franchises have already announced the name of the players that they wanna retain. Like the Khulna Titans who have announced that they would retain marquee Bangladeshi cricketer Mahmudullah in their team.

But things are not similar everywhere. Mushfiqur Rehman doesn’t have the most of the cordial relationship with his Barisal Bull owner and this might see his departure from the team and he might find a host of takers. Sabbir Rehman, last year’s marquee player for Rajshahi is looking out for a new franchise after his fall-out with them.

The fiery Bangladesh opener Tamim Iqbal will also don a new jersey this time. He would be seen representing Kumilla Victorians this time and Mashrafe Mortaza will also ply trade with Rangpur Riders this time.

This time around there are going to be 8 teams with a team from Sylhet making a comeback. And what this means is that one more player would be added to the icon player list and the icon list would be expanded based on the performance in the national team. According to various reports the new icon player to be added to the list is going to be Mustafizur Rahim. Also, the other notable figure like Shakib Al Hasan is staying with Dhaka Dynamite.