Multan Sultans is the Sixth Team in Pakistan Super League (PSL)

Multan Sultans is the sixth team in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) which was bought by the Schon Group. Multan Sultans will feature in the third edition of the PSL to be held in 2018. Dubai-based Schon Group bought the franchise for the reserve price of $5.2 million per year for the eight-year contract.

Pakistan’s fifth largest city, Multan is popularly known for its natural resources and rich Islamic and Sufi tradition. Multan Sultans team is now also the most expensive team in the Pakistan Super League.

As per reports, Mohammad Hafeez is likely to become captain of a new team of Pakistan Super League (PSL) for the third edition. There is also rumours that former Sri Lankan batsman Mahela Jayawardene will be the vice captain of the Multan Sultans team.

After the inclusion of Multan Sultans, there is now total six teams – Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars, Peshawar Zalmi, Islamabad United and Quetta Gladiators. PSL is already very popular among the cricket fans and the addition of more team will increase the popularity of the cricket league.  It seems like PSL 2018 would be bigger and longer edition from past seasons. The number of matches played in the PSL are set to increase by the officials.

PSL’s newest franchise Multan Sultans has also brought together the most feared bowling partnership, Waqar Younis and Wasim Akram. Younis will be the head coach of Multan team while Akram will take responsibility of cricket operations director. They will be work together for the first time since their retirements in 2003.