Sydney Thunder Squad, Players List, Jersey, Captain 2017-18 BBL

The Sydney Thunder is Australian T20 cricket team who competes in the Big Bash League. The Australia’s domestic Twenty20 cricket tournament is popularly known as BBL and it is the 2nd most popular T20 league in the world. As per the Sydney Thunder squad,  Shane Watson will remain the captain in the competition. The team’s home ground is Sydney Showground Stadium which is also known as Spotless Stadium.

The Sydney Thunder team made their debut in the inaugural season of the Big Bash League (BBL 2011-12). The team failed to impress their fans in the first edition and finished last in the first three seasons of Big Bash but the team came back strongly in the 2015-16 season.

Sydney Thunder Squad

The Sydney Thunder team will start their 2017-18 Big Bash League on December 19 against Sydney Sixers at the Sydney Showground Stadium. Here is the complete Sydney Thunder squad for the tournament.

Player Country Role
Usman Khawaja Australia Batsman
Aiden Blizzard Australia Batsman
Jake Doran Australia Batsman
Kurtis Patterson Australia Batsman
Ben Rohrer Australia Batsman
Shane Watson (Captain) Australia All-Rounder
Andre Russell West Indies All-Rounder
Pat Cummins Australia Bowler
Clint McKay Australia Bowler
Gurinder Sandhu Australia Bowler
Chris Green Australia Bowler
Alister McDermott Australia Bowler
Fawad Ahmed Australia Bowler

Sydney Thunder Jersey

The team jersey is lime green and black in colour. The Kit Manufacturers of the Thunder is Majestic Athletic.

Captains List

Name Years captain Captained Won Lost NR %
Michael Hussey 2013-2016 23 9 14 1 39.13%
Shane Watson 2016- 7 3 4 0 42.85%
Chris Rogers 2012 6 0 6 0 0%
Daniel Smith 2011-2012 6 1 5 0 16.66%
Chris Gayle 2013 2 0 2 0 0%
Chris Hartley 2015 2 0 1 1 0%
Ben Rohrer 2016 3 0 3 0 0%
David Warner 2011 1 1 0 0 100%

The Sydney derby began in 2011 when Cricket Australia announced two teams based in Sydney. In the first four seasons of the BBL, the Thunder lost all their matches against Sixers. Sydney Thunder won their first and only Big Bash League in 2015-16 when they defeated Melbourne Stars in the final. The 2015-16 season was the best season for the team as they not only qualified for the knockout but won it. The key players in the squad were Usman Khawaja, Michael Hussey, Shane Watson and Jacques Kallis,