Lewis Hamilton wins Chinese Grand Prix 2017 ahead of Vettel

Lewis Hamilton wins Chinese Grand Prix 2017

Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes driver has secured a great win in the Chinese GP. This is the second race of the season and Hamilton started the race in the pole position. He also started at the pole position in the first race but was not able to convert the advantage in the win. He was beaten by Ferrari driver and four-time world champion Sebastian Vettel. But this time, Hamilton did not make the same mistake and gone on to win the race and made up for the mistakes in the last race.

Hamilton secured his sixth consecutive pole position and 63rd pole position of his career in the qualifying round. It only took him 1 minute 31.678 seconds to complete the lap. This is the record in the Chinese GP. Hamilton broke the long lasting record of Michael Schumacher for the fastest lap in Chinese GP, which stood at 1:32.238 which he got in 2004.

The second position was secured by Ferrari’s driver Sebastian Vettel. He missed the first position by just a whisker. But he should be proud of his performance as he pushed Hamilton till the last lap. The third position was secured by Red Bull’s driver Max Verstappen while his team mate Riccardo finished at the fourth position.

Mercedes chairman said,”We fought back, the whole team, this has been the perfect second race. There are world champions fighting now, which is always good. Lewis made the difference today”.

Now, this spices up the competition as the first race were won by Sebastian Vettel and the second one was won by Hamilton.

Vettel and Hamilton are now tied for the world championship on 43 points. This makes the competition more interesting as Hamilton will have to face a tough competition from the four-time world champion.

Formula 1 Chinese Grand Prix 2017 Results

1 Lewis Hamilton MERCEDES 56 1:37:36
2 Sebastian Vettel FERRARI 56 +6.250s
3 Max Verstappen RED BULL RACING TAG HEUER 56 +45.192s
4 Daniel Ricciardo RED BULL RACING TAG HEUER 56 +46.035s
5 Kimi Räikkönen FERRARI 56 +48.076s
6 Valtteri Bottas MERCEDES 56 +48.808s
7 Carlos Sainz TORO ROSSO 56 +72.893s
8 Kevin Magnussen HAAS FERRARI 55 +1 lap
9 Sergio Perez FORCE INDIA MERCEDES 55 +1 lap
10 Esteban Ocon FORCE INDIA MERCEDES 55 +1 lap
11 Romain Grosjean HAAS FERRARI 55 +1 lap
12 Nico Hulkenberg RENAULT 55 +1 lap
13 Jolyon Palmer RENAULT 55 +1 lap
14 Felipe Massa WILLIAMS MERCEDES 55 +1 lap
15 Marcus Ericsson SAUBER FERRARI 55 +1 lap
NC Fernando Alonso MCLAREN HONDA 33 DNF
NC Daniil Kvyat TORO ROSSO 18 DNF
NC Stoffel Vandoorne MCLAREN HONDA 17 DNF
NC Antonio Giovinazzi SAUBER FERRARI 3 DNF