AFC Cup 2017 Schedule, Match Fixtures & Teams

AFC Cup 2017 Schedule: The 14th edition of the AFC Cup 2017 is scheduled to take place from 24th January while final will be played on 4th November 2017.  This annual international association football competition played between Asia’s domestic clubs organized by the Asian Football Confederation. The schedule of AFC Cup 2017 is officially released but the Knockout, Group and play-off stage match fixtures will be announced stage by stage.

This secondary club football league consist total 49 teams who will be participating in the league from 34 different associations. The emerging countries directly get a chance to participate in the AFC Cup qualifying play-off while mature countries play AFC Champions League. The tournament format is similar to the Europe’s UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Europa League.

AFC Cup 2017 Schedule

The Qualifying rounds of this tournament are already over and now his league headed towards its preliminary round. The preliminary round of this tournament going to happen between 24th January to 4th November 2016. Here is the complete Schedule of the AFC Cup 2017.

AFC Cup 2017 Schedule

The qualifying round for AFC cup 2017 is already over and three teams are already started their journey towards playoffs. Dordoi, Three Star Club, Tertons are three teams who qualify for h 2017 AFC Cup playoffs. The match fixtures of each stage will be updated here as soon as it released byt the officials.

Although, Preliminary round 1 will kick start from the 24th January and the 2nd preliminary round will begin on 31st January 2017. total 49 teams participating in this league from 34 different associates. after the playoff stage, all the teams will be divided into the group stages and top 16 teams will be going to knockout stage. Knockout stage will begin on 15th May 2017. Here is the full AFC Cup 2017 schedule, draw date and stages description.

Stage Round Draw date First leg Second leg
Qualifying stage Qualifying round 17 June 2016 19–25 August 2016
Preliminary stage Preliminary round 1 No draw 24 January 2017
Preliminary round 2 31 January 2017
Play-off stage Play-off round 7 February 2017
Group stage Matchday 1 TBA 20–22 February 2017
Matchday 2 6–8 March 2017
Matchday 3 13–15 March 2017
Matchday 4 3–5 April 2017
Matchday 5 17–19 April 2017
Matchday 6 1–3 May 2017
Knockout stage Round of 16 15–17 May 2017
Quarter-finals TBA 21–23 August 2017 11–13 September 2017
Semi-finals 25–27 September 2017 16–18 October 2017
Final 4 November 2017

2017 AFC Cup Teams & Groups

West Zone Teams

Team Qualifying method App Last App
Group stage direct entrants (Groups A–D)
 Al-Zawraa 2015–16 Iraqi Premier Leaguechampions 3rd 2012
 Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya 2015–16 Iraq FA Cup winners 2nd 2016
 Al-Wehdat 2015–16 Jordan League champions 10th 2016
Al-Ahli 2015–16 Jordan FA Cup winners 1st none
 Al-Jaish 2015–16 Syrian Premier Leaguechampions 7th 2016
 Al-Hidd 2015–16 Bahrain First Division Leaguechampions 4th 2016
Safa 2015–16 Lebanese Premier Leaguechampions 6th 2014
 Fanja 2015–16 Oman Professional Leaguechampions 5th 2016
 Shabab Al-Khalil 2015–16 West Bank Premier Leaguechampions 1st none

Entering in Qualifying Play-off

Teams Qualifying Method App Last App
 Al-Wahda 2016 Syrian Cup winners 6th 2016
 Al-Muharraq 2016 Bahraini King’s Cup winners 6th 2016
 Nejmeh 2015–16 Lebanese FA Cup winners 8th 2015
 Saham 2015–16 Sultan Qaboos Cup winners 2nd 2010
 Ahli Al-Khaleel 2015–16 Palestine Cup winners 2nd 2016

East Zone Teams

Team Qualifying method App Last App
Group stage direct entrants (Groups E–H)
 Hà Nội T&T 2016 V.League 1 champions 3rd 2014
2016 Vietnamese Cup winners
 Johor Darul Ta’zim 2016 Malaysia Super League champions
2016 Malaysia FA Cup winners
4th 2016
 Felda United 2016 Malaysia Super League runners-up 1st none
 Bengaluru FC 2015–16 I-League champions 3rd 2016
2016 Indonesia Soccer Championship Achampions
 Yadanarbon 2016 Myanmar National Leaguechampions 2nd 2015
2016 UFL Division 1 champions
2016 S.League champions
 Maziya 2016 Dhivehi Premier Leaguechampions 5th 2016
Hwaebul 2016 DPR Korea League champions 1st none
2016 Lao Premier League champions

Entering in Qualifying Play-Off

 Mohun Bagan 2015–16 Indian Federation Cup winners 4th 2016
2016 Indonesia Soccer Championship Arunners-up
 Magwe 2016 General Aung San Shield winners 1st none
 Global 2016 UFL Cup winners 2nd 2015
2016 Singapore Cup winners
2016 Maldives FA Cup winners
 April 25 2016 Mangyongdae Prize Sports Games winners 1st none
2016 Lao FF Cup winners

The most successful club in the AFC cup tournament’s history is Kuwait SC  who won the competition thrice. The most successful nation in the tournament is Kuwait who has won four titles. Johor Darul Ta’zim are the current champions of the tournament who won the 2015 AFC Cup final after defeating Istiklol.