FIFA World Cup 2018 Draw Date & Seeding (Group Stage)

The 21st edition of the international football tournament, FIFA World Cup 2018 is scheduled to start from 14 June to 15 July 2018. The world’s most watched sports event will take place in Russia. The tournament will be played between 32 national teams which include 31 teams determined through qualifying round while host Russia will automatically qualified for the competition. World football governing body FIFA recently announced the World Cup 2018 draw date and venue.

FIFA World Cup 2018 Draw Date & Venue

The draw ceremony to decide which teams will play each other to be held on 1st December 2017 at a Kremlin concert hall in Moscow, Russia. The qualifying rounds will be concluded in October 2017 and after that, draw for the FIFA World Cup group stage will take place in Russia. Kremlin concert hall has the capacity to hold 6,000 peoples and it was built in the Soviet era to hold Communist Party conferences.

Total 32 teams across the world will take part in the draw as Russia is a host of the competition, they already qualified while 13 teams from Europe, 5 teams from Africa, 4 teams from Asia, 4 teams from South America and rest 3 teams from Central & north America will include in the ceremony.

The World Cup 2018 group stage will feature 8 groups and each group will have total four teams. Pot 1 will have host, defending champions of the tournament and 6 other best ranked FIFA teams while rest three pots will be decided based on geographical regions. FIFA will have

Viewers can watch FIFA World Cup 2018 draw for group stage on their official website and competition’s official broadcasters tv channels live on 1st December 2017. FIFA World Cup 2018 will be played at 12 stadiums across eleven Russian cities.

FIFA World Cup 2018 Group Stage Draw Details

Draw Date 1st December 2017
Total Teams  32 teams (Hosts Russia, 13 Europe, 5 Africa, 4 South America, 4 Asia, 3 North America and 2 inter-continental playoff winners)
Draw Venue Kremlin concert hall in Moscow, Russia
 Seeding All the 32 teams will be put into 4 pots of 8 teams each.
Group Stage Start Date 14th June 2018