UEFA Europa league Winners List

Established since 1971 by UEFA, earlier known as the UEFA Cup is the Second most important international competition for each and every European Clubs after the UEFA Champions league. The Europa Cup originated from the year 1955 where Inter-Cities Cup was formed which included a number of European clubs, namely London, Milan, Barcelona, Frankfurt, Birmingham, Basel, Leipzig, Zagreb, Lausanne and Copenhagen in the inaugural tournament.

Since the start of the tournament, the Finals also included 2 legs each both Home and Away and on the basis of the aggregate winners was decided but in 1998, scenario changed and only one legged Finals were declared as Internazionale defeated Lazio in the competition’s Final, at the Parc des


The tournament started advancing and developed further in the year 1962 when participation expanded to include 32 entries in the tournament by 1962 and at present there are over 48 Clubs participating. This tournament was then Officially was taken over by the UEFA and named as the UEFA Cup for 1971-72 season when  Tottenham Hotspur won the inaugural competition in 1972, beating Wolverhampton Wanderers 3–2 on aggregate in Finals.

In the 2008-09 Season, the UEFA Europa Cup was Renamed as the UEFA Europa league by the governing body itself. Let us take a complete look at the winners of UEFA Europa Cup which is now known as the UEFA Europa League.

UEFA Europa League Winners List

2016 Sevilla  Liverpool
2015 Sevilla Dnipro
2014 Sevilla Benfica
2013 Chelsea  Benfica
2012 Atletico Madrid  Athletic Bilbao
2011 FC Porto  SC Braga
2010 Atlético Madrid  Fulham
2009 Shakhtar Donetsk  Werder Bremen
2008 Zenit Rangers
2007 Sevilla  Espanyol
2006 Sevilla  Middlesbrough
2005 CSKA Moscow  Sporting Lisbon
2004 Valencia  Marseille
2003 FC Porto Celtic
2002 Feyenoord  B. Dortmund
2001 Liverpool  D. Alavés
2000 Galatasaray Arsenal
1999 Parma  Marseille
1998 Inter Milan  Lazio
1997 FC Schalke Inter Milan
1996 Bayern Munich Bordeaux
1995 Parma  Juventus
1994 Inter Milan  Casino Salzburg
1993 Juventus  Borussia Dortmund
1992 Ajax   Torino
1991 Inter Milan  As Roma
1990 Juventus Fiorentina
1989 Napoli  VfB Stuttgart
1988 Bayer Leverkusen Espanyol
1987 IFK Göteborg  Dundee UTD
1986 Real Madrid  FC Köln
1985 Real Madrid  Videoton
1984 Tottenham  Anderlecht
1983 Anderlecht  Benfica
1982 IFK Göteborg  Hamburg
1981 Ipswich Town  AZ Alkmaar
1980 Eintracht Frankfurt  B. M’gladbach
1979 Borussia M’gladbach   Red Star Belgrade
1978 PSV Eindhoven  Batsia
1977 Juventus  Athletic Bilbao
1976 Liverpool  Club Brugge
1975 Borussia M’gladbach  FC Twenty
1974 Feyenoord  Tottenham
1973 Liverpool  B.M’gladbach
1972 Tottenham  Wolverhampton
Inter-Cities Fairs Cup
1971 Leeds United Juventus
1970 Arsenal FC  Anderlecht
1969 Newcastle United  Újpesti Dózsa
1968 Leeds United  Ferencváros
1967 Dinamo Zagreb  Leeds United
1966 FC Barcelona   Real Zaragoza
1965 Ferencvárosi TC  Juventus
1964 Real Zaragoza  Valencia
1963 Valencia CF  Dinamo Zagreb
1962 Valencia CF  Barcelona
1961 AS Roma  Birmingham City
1958-60 Barcelona XI Birmingham City
1955-58 Barcelona XI London XI

UEFA CUP Most Victories by Teams

UEFA Europa league Winners

When we talk about the UEFA Europa league, Sevilla is the team that automatically comes in our mind and yes there is a reason behind it. The only European Club to win a Hatrick of UEFA Europa League title back to back from the year 2013-14, 2014-15 and 2015-16 consistently 3 back to back UEFA Europa trophies and also winning back in the year 2005-06 Season and 2006-07 Season back to back. With this, the underrated Spanish Club Sevilla becomes 5 times UEFA Europa League winner.

Liverpool (1973,1976,2001), Inter Milan (1991,1994,1998) and Juventus (1977,1990,1993) have won Three UEFA Europa League titles while Atletico Madrid(2010,2012), Real Madrid(1985,1986),Borussia Monchengladbach(1975,1979), Tottenham Hotspur (1972,1984), Feyenoord (1974,2002),  IFK Goteborg (1982,1987), Parma(1995, 1999) and FC Porto(2003,2011) has won the UEFA Europa league title Twice.

However, the Big Reputed Giant Clubs mostly proceed to the UEFA Champions league here we explain you the qualification method of UEFA Europa league.

How to Qualify Europa League?

Here are few ways European Clubs can qualify for the Champions League and Europa League.

5th and 6th position clubs of their respective leagues directly qualify for the UEFA Europa League Group Stage while Seventh position League team qualifies for the Europa League qualifiers.

  1. League Cup win – secures a Europa League third qualifying round spot.
  2.  League position – League Winners will head to the Champions League group stage. Second and third also make the group stages. A fourth position Club will qualify for Champions League play-off round.
  3. Champions League win – guarantees a place in the group stage of the Champions League for the next season.
  4. Europa League win – guarantees a place in the Champions League group stage for the following season.

UEFA Europa League Goal Scorers

Swedish international striker Henrik Larsson is the all-time UEFA Europa League Top Goalscorer with 40 goals in 56 match appearances. Performed majorly for the Scottish side Celtic, Henrik has also served clubs like Manchester United and Barcelona during his entire Football career.

No. Player Country Goals Appearances Clubs
1 Henrik Larsson Sweden 40 56 Feyenoord (1), Celtic (27), Helsingborg (12)
2 Klaas-Jan Huntelaar Netherlands 33 40 Heerenveen (5), Ajax (11), Schalke04 (17)
3 Radamel Falcao Colombia 30 31 Porto (17), Atletico Madrid (13)
4 Dieter Muller West Germany 29 36 Koln (25), Stuttgart (1), Saarbrucken (3)
5 Shota Arveladze Georgia 27 44 Dinamo Tbilisi (2), Trabzonspor (4), Ajax (10), Rangers (2), AZ (9)

Dutch international striker Huntelaar is the second top scorer in the UEFA Europa League. the Hunter has scored 33 goals in 40 appearances for Ajax and who know he can beat the records ahead. He currently plays for Schalke, who are competing in the group stages of the Europa League this 2016-17 season.