ICC World T20 Winners List

The ICC World T20 also known as World Twenty20 is the international Twenty20 cricket tournament organised by cricket’s governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC). Below is ICC T20 World Cup Winners List till now.

The event features total 16 cricketing nation and generally held every two years. All matches played are accorded Twenty20 International status.

The sixth edition of the ICC World Twenty20 2016 held in India is won by West Indies team beating England in the final by hitting 4 sixes in last over. West Indies is the only team in cricket to have won T20 world cups twice.

ICC T20 World Cup Winners List

The five tournaments have so far been played and no team has yet won the tournament on multiple times.  The first ICC World Twenty20 was played in South Africa which was won by India, who defeated Pakistan in the final at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg.

2016 T20 World Cup Winners

Here is the complete list of ICC T20 Cricket World Cup Winners teams with year, result and runner-up.

ICC T20 World Cup Winners List

Year Winner Result Runner-up
2007 India India India won by 5 runs Pakistan
2009 Pakistan-country-flag Pakistan Pakistan won by 8 wickets Sri Lanka
2010 England-cricket-flag England England won by 7 wickets Australia
2012 West-Indies West Indies West Indies won by 36 runs Sri Lanka
2014 Sri-Lanka-cricket-flag Sri Lanka Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets India
2014 West-Indies West Indies West Indies won by 4 wickets England

Most Successful Team In World T20 Tournament

West Indies cricket is most successful team till now. They have appeared in 2 finals and won the competition back in 20012 and 2016. They are considered as most powerful teams of shorter format. West Indies is the only team who has won ICC world T20 cup twice.

T20 World Cup 2007 winner- India team

India is also reached the final twice but only one time they won the T20 cup back in the year 2007, the first edition of the world T20 tournament while they finished runners-up in the 2014 T20 world cup in Bangladesh against Sri Lanka who defeated them in the final.

One Response

  1. Bernie Esselman