COPA America Centenario 2016 Prize Money ($5million)

The COPA America Centenario 2016 competition is a celebration of the 100 years of South American football and e Copa América. 2016 Copa Centenario to be held in the United States and it is for the first time hosted outside of South America

Around 80% of increase seen in total prize money of COPA America Centenario this year. It is considered as the biggest football tournament taking place in the USA since 1994 world cup.

COPA America Centenario 2016 Prize Money

Copa Centenario 2016 Prize Money

CONMEBO (South American football) has increased the total prize money for 2016 edition as they sold the tournament TV rights to some of the big sports network of the USA such as FoxSports (English) and Univision (Spanish)

Because of this massive TV rights deals, CONMEBO increased the total prize money from $10m to $18 million for COPA America Centenario 2016.

The winners of 2016 COPA America Centenario will get $5 million, Runners-up will get $4m, third place playoff winners $3m and the fourth placed team $2million while every participating team will get $250,000 awarded as a bonus. Below is the complete details about COPA America Centenario 2016 prize money.

Copa Centenario 2016 Prize Money




Participation Fee  $250,000 A participation fee of $250,000 will be awarded to each of the 16 teams
Fourth Place $2 million Losing team in the third place playoff will get $2m
3rd Place Playoff Winners $3 million Winners of third place playoff winner will pocket $3m.
Runners-up $4 million Losing finalists will pocket $4m
Winners $5 million Eventual Champions will pocket $5 million


Total prize money of  COPA America Centenario 2016 was $10 million. Chile got $4 million as the winner of last year while the runners-up Argentina earned $3 million followed by $2 million for third placed team Peru and $1 million for fourth-placed Paraguay.

The tournament is only ceremonial and the winner of this tournament will not receive an invitation to the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup as Chile have already qualified by winning the 2015 Copa América.