Rugby World Cup Winners List

A men’s rugby union tournament, Rugby World Cup has been held seven times till now, won by four different national teams. New Zealand won  three times while Australia and South Africa with two titles each. The other Rugby World Cup winner is England in year 2003.

New Zealand are the current champions who won the Rugby World Cup 2015 final against Australia in England.

Below is the list of Rugby World Cup Winners from 1987 to 2015.

Rugby World Cup Winners - New Zealand  2015

Rugby World Cup Winners List

Events Year Winner Runner-Up Score
8 2015 New Zealand Australia 34-17
7 2011 New Zealand France 8-7
6 2007 South Africa England 15-6
5 2003 England Australia 20-17
4 1999 Australia France 35-12
3 1995 South Africa New Zealand 15-12
2 1991 Australia England 12-6
1 1987 New Zealand France 29-9


The Rugby World Cup tournament held every four years between the top international teams and winners are awarded the William Webb Ellis Cup which is named after William Webb Ellis a popular legend who invented rugby.

The first Rugby World Cup was held in 1987, co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand. The next Rugby World Cup will host by Japan in 2019.